Wednesday 21st April

RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under Comes To BBC Three This Spring

news detail banner

London, Wednesday 21st April 2021 - Shantay, G’day! RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under comes to BBC Three this Spring. 

BBC Three, the home of RuPaul’s Drag Race UK, is set to air the first-ever Australian-New Zealand version of RuPaul’s Drag Race, fronted by none other than its award-winning Executive Producer and host RuPaul. 

Drag Race Down Under (8x60’) will see ten of the most koala-fied Aussie and Kiwi queens competing for the title of Down Under's First Drag Superstar. The series will be available to UK viewers exclusively on BBC iPlayer this May, providing a treat for fans eagerly waiting series three of RuPaul’s Drag Race UK. 

Joining RuPaul on the judging panel will be Drag Race royalty Michelle Visage and Australian comedian Rhys Nicholson, who will bring his signature serving of wit and style to the most fabulous reality show in herstory.

The 10 fierce Aussie and Kiwi queens include: Anita Wigl’it (NZ), Art Simone (VIC), Coco Jumbo (NSW), Elektra Shock (NZ), Etcetera Etcetera (NSW), JoJo Zaho (NSW), Karen from Finance (VIC), Kita Mean (NZ), Maxi Shield (NSW) and Scarlet Adams (WA). 

RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under - produced by media company World of Wonder - is the latest in many international editions of the series that have captivated audiences across the globe, including the hugely successful RuPaul’s Drag Race UK. Squirrel friends of the show can expect iconic high fashion looks, cryptic challenges, werkroom dramas and weekly lip-sync for your life battles featuring death drops galore. Viewers can look forward to even more shade and drama than ever before with an extra-large helping of Australasian pop culture and sass! 

Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato, Executive Producers of World of Wonder say: “It’s a testament to RuPaul’s determination that we were finally able to film Drag Race Down Under. We are thrilled to be continuing our relationship with the BBC to bring the creative queens of Down Under to UK audiences.” 

Fiona Campbell, Controller, BBC Three says: “Following an incredible series of RuPaul’s Drag Race UK, BBC Three are delighted to be bringing another dose of Drag Race magic to UK audiences in the form of Drag Race Down Under.  It’s another great opportunity for us to work with World of Wonder and I hope that fans will enjoy getting to know these wonderful queens from across Australia and New Zealand.” 

Canberra to wait any longer? BBC Three will release the eight-part series weekly on BBC iPlayer in May this year, transmitted in line with Australia and New Zealand. 

RuPaul’s Drag Race Down Under is an 8x60’ World of Wonder production in collaboration with Warner Bros. International Production New Zealand, Stan in Australia, TVNZ in New Zealand, BBC, and WOW Presents Plus. Randy Barbato, Fenton Bailey, Tom Campbell, and RuPaul Charles serve as Executive Producers. Vicki Keogh (TVNZ), Nick Forward (Stan), and Greg Heathcote (WB) also serve as Executive Producers. The series was acquired from Passion Distribution by Fiona Campbell, Controller for BBC Three and Kate Phillips, Controller, BBC Entertainment and overseen by Nick Tanner, Passion Distribution’s Director of Sales and Co-production. Ruby Kuraishe and Dwayne Eaton are the Commissioning Editors for the BBC. Passion Distribution distributes the series globally in line with Passion Distribution and WOW’s distribution strategy.

View All News